Budhanilkantha win title

LALITPUR: Budhanilkantha and Pushpasadan School won the titles in the SML Isuzu 25th Gyan Carnival here on Wednesday.

Budhanilkantha earned a walkover win from Sahid Dharma Bhakta in the boys’ football tournament final, while Pushpasadan bagged the mini basketball title with a 50-34 victory over Oasis.

Sanjiv Bohara netted 21 points for Pushpasadan. Ayush Khapangi of hosts Gyanodaya was named the best player in football, while Budhanilkantha’s Manjil Gautam was the highest scorer with nine goals. Pushpasadan’s Sanjiv Bohara was adjudged the most valuable player in basketball.

Gyanodaya and Mercy Mission won the Fair Play awards. A total of 24 teams — 16 in football and eight in basketball — took part in the Carnival. Sales Director of SML Isuzu Deepak Thapa, Management Committee President of Gyanodaya Buddha Bir Lama and Principal Indira Yakthumba handed over the prizes to the winners.