CAN calls 25 probables for ACC T20

Kathmandu:Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today called 25 probables for the camp in preparation for the upcoming ACC Women's Twenty20 Championship to be held in Malaysia from July 1-12.

The players were selected by the National Selection Committee headed by Arun Kumar Aryal, said the CAN in a press release. The camp will be held in Kathmandu from the second week of June, the release added.

The selected players are Rashmi Sharma, Ambika Budhathoki, Jyoti Pandey, Rubina Chhetry, Sarita Magar, Gita Chudal, Nima Tamang, Nira Rajopadhyaya, Gita Khadka, Manita Gautam, Arati Bidari, Khina Thapa Magar, Nitu Thapa, Saraswoti Lamgade, Nery Thapa, Manisha Rawal, Samana Pun Magar, Keshari Chaudhary, Binu Budha Magar, Maya Rawat, Ritu Kanaujiya, Janaki Bhatta, Rachita Ojha, Sonu Khadka and Rekha Rawal.

Nepal are drawn in Group A along with Thailand, Singapore, Qatar, Bhutan and Iran. Hosts Malaysia, Hong Kong, the United Arab Emirates, China, Kuwait and Oman are in Group B. Nepal will open their campaign with a match against Iran on July 3, before playing back to back matches against Singapore and Qatar. Nepal will face Bhutan on July 8 before ending the league round with a match against China.

The top three teams of the tournament will qualify for the 16th Asian Games to be held in Gongzhou, China in 2010. Cricket is included in the Asiad for the first time and the hosts China along with four Test playing Asian nations — India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh — have direct entry to the tournament.

This is the third time Nepali women cricketers are playing in international event. They won the ACC Under-19 Women Championship in Thailand in December last year and the senior side was the finalists of the ACC Women's Championship in Malaysia 2007.