Chandrapur record easy victory


Sabita Rana Magar scored a hat-trick as Chandrapur Municipality came from a goal down to thrash Chaudandigadhi Municipality 7-1 in the National Women’s League here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Dil Kumari Rana Magar netted a brace, while Rajani Thokar and Sunita Bholan scored one each for Chandrapur, who registered their first victory in the tournament. Chandrapur had faced a 6-0 loss at the hands of Nepal APF Club in their first match.

Anjana Thulung opened the scoring for Chaudandigadhi but that turned out to be the consolation goal after Chandrapur came back strongly. Thulung put Chaudandigadhi ahead in the 22nd minute before Chandrapur dominated the show. Dil Kumari levelled the scores in the first half injury time after she found the back of the nets following a corner kick from Sabita.

Chandrapur took the lead in the 47th minute through Rajani’s goal before Sabita made it 3-1 four minutes later when she slotted home in rebound after Chaudandigadhi goalkeeper Devika blocked the initial shot from Rajani. Sabita scored her second and team’s fourth goal in the 69th minute and completed the hat-trick nine minutes later when she beat past Chaudandigadhi keeper Devika in one-on-one situation.

Sunita made it 6-1 in the 85th minute after the substitute player slammed home on a pass from Sabita before Dil Kumari completed the rout with her second goal of the match in the injury time. On Tuesday, Nepal Police Club will take on Waling Municipality, while Nepal APF Club will play against fellow departmental side Tribhuvan Army Football Club.

NPC sneak into semis