Chess League in Hetauda

Makawanpur, September 19

Rajan Thapa Magar, Rupesh Prasad Palikhe, Pawan Sapkota, Sandesh Khatiwada, Uttam Mandal, Saroj Chhatkuli, Gyanendra Raj Dhungel, Asmit Adhikari, Devendra Sanjel and Sundar Karki shared the lead after the first round of the Districtwide Chess League today.

After the league, which will be played over 19 rounds in 90 days, the top 10 players will qualify for the Champions League, which will also feature national players from the district.

After the Champions League, top seven will earn ‘A’ status, while remaining players will be listed in ‘B’ category, informed the organisers.

The tournament is organised by Makawanpur District Chess Association under the sponsorship of Nepal-India Friendship Association.