CoAS Open Marathon on Saturday

Kathmandu, March 3

Nepal Army’s Tribhuvan Army Club is organising the first CoAS Open Marathon and Run For Fun here on Saturday.

Around 3000 athletes and individuals from corporate and diplomatic missions are expected to take part in the event that is divided into five categories, informed NA’s Sports Department chief Lt Col Ramkaji Rana Magar at a press meet today.

Except for marathon, three competitions feature both men and women sections, while walkathon is open for all.

A total of 230 players will compete in the 42.195km open marathon, while 718 have registered for half marathon and 327 in 10km race for military attaché, foreigners and army officers.

Likewise, 1081 students will compete in 5km race and 500 persons from government offices, banks and diplomatic missions are expected to take part in walkathon.

The races will start from Tribhuvan Army Officers Club in Bhadrakali.

Nepal Army Spokesperson Brig Gen Tara Bahadur Karki said the event was being organised to help sports grow. “We have been contributing to Nepali sports for a long time and we want this sector grow,” said Karki. “We are organising various sports tournaments to provide the athletes with proper platform to compete.

We are leading organisation when it comes to contribution in Nepali sports and we hope this event will be helpful in producing and selecting athletes for future,” he added.

The winner in marathon will receive Rs 100,000 along with a motorcycle and Samsung mobile set, while the runner-up will get Rs 50,000 and a mobile set.

The third-placed athlete will earn Rs 25,000, while fourth to sixth placed players get Rs 15,000, Rs 7,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Top three athletes in half marathon will receive Rs 25,000, 15,000 and 10,000 respectively, while the prize money in 5km races are Rs 7,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000.

Karki also said the NA would honour the athletes who participated in the Asian Games from 1951 to 1980. “We will felicitate the national heroes with the lifetime achievement awards during the closing ceremony of the event,” he said.

Min Bahadur Bista, Gajaraj Joshi, Bhupendra Silwal, Ganga Bahadur Thapa, Bhakta Bahadur Sapkota, Jeet Bahadur KC, Baikuntha Manandhar and Mukunda Bahadur Shrestha will be honoured.