NCCS CPAN Cricket Awards

Technical Committee members with other officials at a press meet of the NCCS CPAN Cricket Awards in Kathmandu on Sunday. Photo: THT
Kathmandu, March 3 National team skipper Paras Khadka was among the five players nominated in the men’s section of the NCCS CPAN Cricket Awards here today. Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami, Dipendra Singh Airee and Karan KC are the other nominees for the award slated for Tuesday. Sita Rana Magar, Rubina Chhetri Belbashi, Karuna Bhandari, Sarita Magar and Indu Berma are in the race for the women’s category award. Likewise, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara and Kabita Kunwar were named as nominees in the Emerging Player of the Year category. The Award features five categories. The organisers have already announced 10 nominees for the Moment of the Year Award which will be declared through public votes, while the Lifetime Achievement Award winner will be announced directly in the award programme. The nominees were picked up by a seven-member Technical Committee that included former national team skipper Binod Das, head coach Jagat Tamatta, Technical Analyst Raman Shiwakoti, sports journalists Sarita Shrestha and Subas Humagain and umpires duo Durganath Subedi and Binay Kumar Jha. The Cricketer of the Year will receive Rs 132,000, while four others will get Rs 66,000 each. Technical Committee member Das said the selection of nominees was done purely on the basis of performance. “Match statistics and the impact of players’ individual performance in the team were taken into account for the selection of the nominees,” he added.