NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista handing over the trophy to Dauphins Family Club player after the 21st Tilottama Gold Cup in Butwal on Monday. Photo: THT
Kathmandu, February 25 Dauphins Family Club of Cameroon defeated Nepal Police Club in sudden death to win the 21st Tilottama Gold Cup here at the ANFA Technical Centre grounds today. The match was decided on penalties after both the teams failed to break the deadlock in the regulation period. The teams then converted all five kicks in tie-breaker before Dauphins prevailed in the first attempt of sudden death for their third title. Nia converted for Dauphins from the spot in sudden death, while Tej Tamang wasted his shot for NPC. Earlier, Priso Ndjanga, Jo Angoula, Ekewem, Petnga and Njama Yannik scored for Dauphins in tie-breaker, whereas Bharat Shah, Bikram Dhimal, Rabi Paswan, Tirtha Rana Magar and Suman Lama converted from the spot for NPC. Dauphins, who had also won the titles of the Manakamana Cable Car Pokhara Cup and Budha Subba Gold Cup in Dharan, received Rs 880,000, while NPC — who had opened the mofussil campaign by claiming the Nepal Ice Khaptad Farwest Gold Cup title — earned Rs 550,000. Aashish Gurung of Rupandehi-XI was declared the most valuable player of the tournament and he received a scooter. NPC dominated the individual awards winning four out of five prizes — forward Rabi Paswan, midfielder Hem Tamang, defender Bikram Dhimal and coach Ananta Thapa. Priso Ndjanga of Dauphins was named the best goalkeeper. The individual award winners received Rs 25,000 each. National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised by Rupandehi District Football Association.