LALITPUR: DAV Sushil Kedia Vishwa Bharati School, Nepal Police School and Sainik Awasiya Mahavidhyalaya won their matches of the second Inter-school Football Tournament organised to mark the 50th Birth Anniversary of Sushil Kedia, here on Sunday.

Nayab Hussian scored the solitary goal of the match as hosts defeated The British School 1-0. In other league round matches, NPS beat Lab School 1-0 riding on the goal from Rahul Khadka, while Prakash Giri netted a brace in SAM’s 2-0 victory over IJ Pioneer.

Likewise, DAV ‘B’ and AVM School played a goalless draw. Meanwhile, AVM won the boys’ section title of the Table Tennis Tournament.

Little Angels’ School came second, while Meridian School and DAV were joint third. Earlier, former national football team captain Hari Khadka and DAV School Chairman Anil Kedia inaugurated the two-day event and the Open Gym facility of the school.

A total of 12 school teams are taking part in football and 13 in table tennis tournaments.

Satdobato triumph

KATHMANDU: Satdobato Youth Club beat Bansbari Club 1-0 to move to the sixth position of the Martyrs Memorial B Division Football League here at the Nepal APF Club grounds on Sunday.

Krishna Rumba, who replaced Sinka Tamang in the 41st minute, scored the solitary goal of the match in the 81st minute.

Satdobato have 13 points from eight matches, while Bansbari remained unchanged at the ninth position with 10 points.

In another match at the same venue, Divine Boys Union Club played a goalless draw with Nayabasti Youth Club. Boys Union are seventh with 12 points, while Nayabasti moved to 10th position with seven points.

Three Star face Barak

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Ruslan Three Star Club will face Barak FC of Nagaland in the opening encounter of the 64th Bharat Ratna Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy Football Tournament at the Nehru Stadium in Guwahati on Monday.

Three Star are in Group A along with Shillong Lajong FC, Oil India FC of Assam and Barak FC. Three Star are runners-up of the previous edition of the tournament held six years ago.

A total of eight teams from India, Nepal and Bangladesh are taking part in the tournament with teams divided into two groups. Three Star recently qualified for the AFC Cup Play-off.

Title song released

LALITPUR: National Sports Council unveiled the title song of the Seventh National Games here at International Sports Complex on Sunday.

The Games is scheduled for November 23-30 in the Eastern Region. NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista, Treasurer Surendra Bahadur Hamal, Members Ganga Bahadur Thapa, Sailesh Karmacharya and Upendra Yadav unveiled the song entitled ‘Kheladi Haun Kheladi Haun Hami Kheladi’.

The song is written by Tanka Upreti, while Sumit Khadka is the singer and Man Raj Nakarmi the musician. A three-member team, led by senior musician Durga Lal Shrestha, selected the song from five entries.

The NSC also release the jingle of the National Games.