Thapa clinches golf title

Kathmandu, June 24

Dhruba Thapa won the title of the Himalayan Bank Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club today.

Thapa accumulated 40 points to finish first in the men’s section. Jiwan Limbu, who had completed his round on Friday, came second with 38 points. Ang Norbu Sherpa claimed the gross section trophy in count back after he was tied on 32 points with Hemant Gurung.

Pratima Sherpa won the women’s section trophy with the score of 36 points, while Pawitra Yakthumba came second with 34. Col Shashi Bickram Singh claimed the senior category award with 37 points finishing ahead of Gautam Sayami (36). Maj Mani Prasad Rai won the super senior section title with 30 points, while Prithivi Malla was the winner among guest participants with 36 points and Kanchan Basnyat came second with 35.

Samir Acharya was the HBL Family winner with 34 points. Likewise, Binod Tamang won the junior section title on count back after he was tied on 23 points with Shashwat Pradhan. Other winners of the tournament included Mithun Rai (most birdies), Sailesh Samghai (longest drive), Swadesh Tamang (closest-to-the-pin) and Rekha Ghimire (24th position).

A total of 101 players took part in the tournament which was played under stableford 3/4 handicap format. Former Crown Prince Paras Shah and Himalayan Bank Limited Chairman Manoj Bahadur Shrestha among others handed over the prizes to the winners.