Don Bosco beat St Xavier’s, claim title

Lalitpur, December 11

Nepal Don Bosco School of Lubhoo defeated St Xavier’s School of Jawalakhel 2-0 to win the title of the 20th Fr Moran Memorial Primary Level Inter-school Football Tournament here at the St Xavier’s Godavari School grounds on Friday.

Dil Raj Tamang scored a goal each in either half in the final of the tournament. Hosts St Xavier’s Godavari finished third with a 3-1 victory over Crescent English School of Godavari. Kunjan KC, Anish Budhathoki and Phiraj Maharjan scored for the hosts, while Sovakary Rokaya netted the consolation goal for Crescent.

Aashish Ghale of St Xavier’s Godavari was named the best player of the tournament, while Durga Bahadur Shrestha of Don Bosco and Kunsang Tamang of Crescent were named the best goalkeeper and defender respectively. Roshan Lama of Crescent was declared the promising player, while Sparsha Jung Pandey of St Xavier’s Jawalakhel won the highest scorer’s award and Fr Savio Rai of Don Bosco was named the best coach. Crescent was awarded with the Fair Play trophy.

Manoj Ghimire, President of Godavari Area Sports Development Committee and St Xavier’s Godavari School Principal Fr Jiju V Kevillil, SJ handed over the prizes to the winners.