Nepal | November 18, 2019

DPL postponed for two days

Himalayan News Service

Jonty Rhodes (bottom left) goodwill ambassador of DPL3, Subash Bahadur Shahi (bottom right) President of Dhangadhi Cricket Academy take photo with skippers of six team during trophy unveiling of Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League 3 in Dhangadhi on Friday. Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry

Dhangadhi, February 8

Dhangadhi Cricket Academy has postponed the Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League for two days citing adverse weather condition.

The premier Twenty20 cricket tournament, which was originally scheduled to begin at proposed Fapla International Stadium on Saturday, will now start on Monday. “Because of the unfavourable weather, we were forced to push the start of the tournament by two days,” said the organisers.

Earlier, the organisers unveiled the trophy. DCA President Subash Bahadur Shahi and legendary South African cricketer and Goodwill Ambassador of DPL Jonty Rhodes unveiled the trophy along with the captains of the six participating teams.

As per the new schedule, Dhangadhi Stars will take on Biratnagar Kings in the opening match on Monday, while Rupandehi Challengers face Mahendranagar United in the day’s second game. CYC Attariya and Kathmandu Goldens are the other teams in the tournament.

Teams will play against each other in the league round and top four will make it to the playoffs. Top two will fight in Qualifier1 for a place in the final, while other two will play the eliminator. The winners of eliminator will face the losing team of Qualifier1 to decide the second team in final. The final is slated for February 23.

DCA has announced the prize money of three million rupees to the winners of the tournament making it the biggest cricketing event in terms of prize money. The runners-up will get Rs 1.2 million, while the third and fourth placed teams will earn Rs 400,000 and Rs 200,000 respectively. Likewise, the most valuable player will be awarded with Gokden Spike Shoe from Goldstar, one of the partners of the tournament. Man-of-the-match award winning player in every game will receive Rs 15,000, while fans who take a catch in six will get Rs 10,000 per catch.

The DCA will also honour two individuals with Dhangadhi Cricket Award and Arjun Khadka Memorial Award at the opening ceremony. The awards carry cash incentive of Rs 100,000 each.

DCA President Subash Bahadur Shahi, legendary South African Jonty Rhodes (front left) and skippers of six teams pose for a group photo after unveiling Dhangadhi Premier League trophy on Friday.

A version of this article appears in print on February 09, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: