Eastern Region and APF to battle for PM Cup cricket title

DHANGADHI: Eastern Region and Nepal Armed Police Force are set to battle for the title of Prime Minister Cup Women's National Cricket Tournament as both sides reached the final registering wins on Saturday.

In the semi-finals clashes held at Fapla cricket grounds, Dhangadhi, Eastern registered 53 runs win over Central Region while other finalist APF overcame home team Far-western Region by 81 runs.

Now the summit clash will be played on Sunday and the champions will win a purse of Rs 500,000 while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 200,000.

In the day's first match, Eastern won the toss and chose to bat before making a total of 119-2 in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Central managed to make 66 runs only losing all the wickets.

Player-of-the-match Kajol Shrestha top-scored with unbeaten 55 runs for winning side while Apsari Begam and skipper Rubina Chhetry contributed 32 and 14 runs respectively.

Likewise, Kanchan Shrestha (21) and Sita Shrestha (17) were two notable contributors for Central. Eastern captain Chhetry bagged three wickets while Sabnam Rai, Santoshi Chaudhary and Sangita Rai added one wicket each.

In day's second match, APF was invited to bat after losing the toss and made a total of 131-4 in their allotted 20 overs and restricted Far-western for paltry 51 runs. Sita Rana Magar smashed 50 runs for departmental team whereas Sarita Magar and Jyoti Pandey contributed 37 and 18 runs respectively. Far-western's Suman Bista, Laxmi Saud and Nisha Bhatta claimed one wicket each.

Nisha Bhatta was top scorer of Far-western team with just 11 runs while none of the remaining batters managed to touch the double digit.