England bowls against New Zealand in WT20 semifinal

NEW DELHI: England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss Wednesday and decided to bowl against New Zealand in the first semifinal at the World Twenty20.

England went in unchanged while New Zealand made two changes, bringing back Martin Guptill for Henry Nichols at the top of the order and playing pace bowler Adam Milne for spinner Nathan McCullum.

New Zealand is the only undefeated team in the tournament, having won all its four Group 2 games against India, Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

England beat defending champion Sri Lanka, South Africa and Afghanistan in Group 1 but lost to West Indies.

England and New Zealand have both reached the semifinals on one occasion.

New Zealand lost to Pakistan in the semifinals of the inaugural edition in 2007 while England went on to win the tournament in 2010.

The other semifinal will be played between India and West Indies at Mumbai on Thursday.


England: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Ish Sodhi.