Footvolley tourney

KATHMANDU: Nepal Footvolley Association is organising the first Gajaraj Joshi Memorial National Footvolley Tournament at the Aakashedhara handball court from August 6-8.

A total of 16 men’s teams from Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Kavre, Sindhupalchowk and Chitwan will compete in the tournament which will be played under league-cum-knockout format, informed NFA General Secretary Damodar Bhattarai.

The participating teams will be divided into four groups. The winners and runners-up will get Rs 25,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively.

Bhattarai informed that the tournament will also serve as the selection event for the first South Asian Footvolley Championship to be held in Nepal two months later.