Futsal squad announced

Kathmandu, October 7

The All Nepal Football Association Futsal Committee announced a 14-member squad for the AFC Futsal Championship 2018 Qualification for South and Central Zone slated for October 15-17 in Iran.

Anish Shrestha and Sumit Kumar Ale are goalkeepers, while Saurabh Rakhal Magar, Raj Shahi and Amit Tamang are defenders. Aruj Singh, Nabin Lama, Binod Gurung, Mani Kumar Rana and Abhay Rana are the midfielders in the team, whereas Susaan Shrestha, Sanjog Maharjan, Nirmal Gurung, and Suraj Raut are forwards.

Nepal are pitted in Group A along with Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkmenistan in the Qualifiers. Nepal, who will be making their international futsal debut from the tournament, will open the campaign with a match against Uzbekistan on October 15. They will face Kyrgyzstan the following day before playing against Turkmenistan on October 17.

Similarly, hosts Iran, Tajikistan and Afghanistan are in Group B. The top two teams from both the groups will qualify for the finals to be held in Chinese Taipei next year.