KATHMANDU: Gambhir Samundra Setu Secondary School edged past Budhanilkantha Model Academy to enter the Group 'C' quarter-finals in the Coca-Cola Inter-school National Football Tournament qualifiers here at the Sanogaucharan grounds today.
Gambhir Samundra overcame Budhanilkanta 4-3 in tie-breaker after a dull goalless draw in the regular time. In other Group 'D' matches held here, Batsanjivani Model High School hammered Oxford Higher Secondary School 5-1, Mahakabi Devkota Memorial School saw off Surya Binayak English Secondary School 5-1 and Arunima Saikchik Pratisthan laboured to a 5-4 win in sudden death after a 1-1 draw against Deep Jyoti Secondary School.
Krishna Man Byanju struck a hat-trick (29th, 61st, 67th) and Ruman Shrestha (19th) and Jayan Napit (54th) scored a goal each for Batsanjivani. Dipendra Shrestha pulled one (25th) back for Oxford. Likewise, Santosh Phuyal scored twice (3rd, 20th) while Sudip Phuyal (66th), Kiran Sharma (60th) and Saron Phuyal (76th) added one goal each for Mahakabi Devkota School.
Man Singh Dharma Secondary School, Mt Glory International School, Mahendra Adarsha Secondary School and Kantipur Academy registered wins in matches held at the FIFA Technical Centre in Chyasal.
Man Singh Dharma saw off Shangri-La Public School 8-7 in sudden death after a 1-1 draw in regular time. Anil Shrestha had provided Man Singh Dharma the 21st minute lead before Dawa Singhi forced the match into the tiebreaker with a 54th minute equaliser.
Mt Glory, however, had a crushing 6-0 win over Mahendra Bhrikuti Secondary School. Pawan Shrestha (42nd, 48th) and Niraj Pariyar (61st, 78th) scored a brace each while Prakash Gurung (16th) and Resham Gurung added one goal each.
The match between Mahendra Adarsha and Bright Future was also decided on a sudden death after a 1-1 draw in the regular time. Sagar KC had given the 11th minute lead for Mahendra Adarsha only to be leveled by Samit Budhathoki in the 38th minute. Mahendra Adarsha, however, prevailed 6-5 in sudden death penalty shootout. Kantipur Aademy, meanwhile, got a walkover win from Takchhyashila Academy.