Lama, Sharma confirm Candidate Master titles

Kathmandu, March 26

Nepal’s Himal Lama and Bhagawati Prasad Sharma earned the titles of Candidate Master during the Asian Zonal 3.2 Chess Championship here today.

In the open category, Lama played a draw against Nepal’s national champion as well as CM Madan Krishna Kayastha in the eighth round and accumulated 4.5 points to confirm the title. Similarly, Sharma defeated Ahmed Aman Ibrahim to get the title of CM.

Sri Lankan R S Kalugampitiya beat Nepal’s Sumit Panta and also won the title of CM.

Meanwhile, leader Bangladeshi Grand Master Mollah Abdullah Al Rakib saw off Nepal’s CM Keshav Shrestha to accumulate seven points. Rakib will win the championship even if he plays a draw in last-round match on Monday.

Another Bangladeshi GM Ziaur Rahman accumulated 6.5 points with a victory over fellow countryman International Master Abu Sufian Shakil. GM Niaz Murshed, also from Bangladesh, outplayed teammate FIDE Master Syed Rahman Mahfuzur to collect six points.

In the women’s section, WIM Hamid Rani of Bangladesh faced the first defeat of the tournament. She went down to fellow Bangladeshi FM Shirin Sharmin Sultana in the eighth round.

Similarly, WIM Shamima Akter recorded victory over Nepal’s Punam Prasai and kept her title hopes alive.

After the day’s results, Rani and Akter are tied at the top of the table with seven points and Monday’s matches will decide the champion. Likewise,  Shanta Thapa saw off Kusi Matina and Sabina Shrestha defeated Sindira  Joshi. Thapa and Shrestha are tied on four points.