Himalayan Sherpa through

Lalitpur, June 7

Himalayan Sherpa Club defeated New Road Team 6-4 and entered the quarter-finals of the Lalit Memorial U-18 Football Championship here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Himalayan Sherpa finished as Group C runners-up behind Jawalakhel Youth Club. The two teams were tied on six points with Jagadamba Lumbini FC and they made it to the next round on superior goal.

Abhinash Gurung scored a hat-trick, while Bel Prasad Gurung netted a brace and Bishal Tamang scored one goal for Himalayan Sherpa. Similarly, Sajeen Rai, Manish Paudel, Sanish Khadgi and Ashok Thapa Magar scored one goal each for NRT.

Bel Prasad Gurung opened the scoring for Himalayan Sherpa in the fourth minute before NRT’s Sajeen Rai levelled the scores in the 19th minute. However, Gurung restored the lead for Himalayan Sherpa in the 24th minute.

Himalayan Sherpa’s Bishal Tamang made it 3-1 in the 32nd minute and Abhinash Gurung scored his first and team’s fourth goal in the 37th minute to extend the lead. NRT’s Manish Paudel found the back of the nets in the injury time of the first half.

In the second half, Abhinash Gurung of Himalayan Sherpa scored in the 62nd and 69th minute to complete his hat-trick, while NRT’s Ashok Thapa Magar pulled one back in the injury time of the second half. In the Group D match played between already-eliminated teams, Brigade Boys Club beat Morang FC 2-0 riding on goals from Roshan Neupane and Rohit Giri.