Hirano, Tsao clinch boys’ doubles crown

Lalitpur, February 9

Japan’s Taiyo Hirano and Chinese Taipei’s Chia-Fan Tsao won the boys’ doubles title of the Nepal ITF Juniors U-18 Circuit-I Tournament here at the Satdobato Tennis Complex courts today.

In the final match, the pair of Hirano and Tsao thrashed Chinese duo of Wenmao Li and Yangxuan Li 6-2, 6-1.

Hirano and Tsao also advanced to the boys’ singles final. In the semi-final matches, Hirano thrashed India’s Anurag Agrawal 6-2, 6-0, while Tsao earned a walkover win from Taisei Kageyama of Japan.

Similarly, the pair of Chui Kei Leung of Hong Kong and Sanya Singh of India won the girls’ doubles title with a 6-0, 7-5 victory over Indian duo of Smriti Bhasin and Hrudya Shah.

In girls’ singles, Yiming Dang of China defeated Kanon Yasumoto of Japan 6-2, 0-6, 7-6 (2), while USA’s Rutuja Chaphalkar outplayed India’s Divya Vaani 6-1, 6-1 to advance to the final.

The final matches will be played on Saturday.