Holland in preliminary Champions Trophy squad

QUEENSLAND: The left-arm spinner Holland, 22, has played only eight List A games and is by far the least experienced member of the extended line-up, from which the final 15-man squad will be picked. However, the selectors are keen to keep an eye on Holland, who impressed in the recent Australia A games against Pakistan A in Queensland.

The offspinner Jason Krejza has also been named but he and Holland will face a tough battle to make the final touring party with Nathan Hauritz firmly entrenched as the No. 1 spinner. The Tasmanian wicketkeeper Tim Paine has emerged as the new limited-overs backup to Brad Haddin, also following strong performances for Australia A.

Phillip Hughes may also be trialled in the one-day format after being used as a Test specialist so far, while his fellow Ashes squad member Andrew McDonald is also in the mix. The other members of the group yet to make their ODI debuts are Moises Henriques, who has played a Twenty20 for Australia, and the Victoria fast bowler Clint McKay, who also featured for Australia A recently.

Surprisingly, his state team-mate Hodge was not named in the 30-man group despite holding a Cricket Australia contract and enjoying another productive domestic season. There was also no room for Clark, who has been a fringe ODI player and featured in the recent series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

"The Australian side is currently in a rebuilding phase as we prepare for the 2011 ICC World Cup, following the loss of so many important players from the 2007 World Cup-winning team," the chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said. "The ICC Champions Trophy is a key event in international cricket and a very important one for Australia as we look to lift our one-day international performances in our bid to retain this trophy.

"The squad recognises the performances of our proven one-day international players, the strong performance of the Australia A side in the recent one-day series against Pakistan A and the performances of our interstate players in the Ford Ranger Cup." The deadline for Australia to submit their final squad of 15 is on August 23.

Preliminary squad Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, Jon Holland, James Hopes, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Tim Paine, Peter Siddle, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.