Singh clinches golf title

Kathmandu, March 4

Hridesh Kumar Singh won the title of the second Nayapatrika Corporate Golf Cup here at Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Singh accumulated 39 points with the help of five birdies on the fourth, sixth, seventh, eighth and 10th holes. He dropped shots against bogeys on the second, ninth, 15th and 16th holes.

Singh was also eligible for the best gross award but due to one-player- one-major-prize rule he chose the nett section award. Singh received iphone7, Taylormade M2 driver and 58 degree Taylormade wedge along with the trophy. He also won the most birdies award and received a dozen of taylormade golf balls.

Mithun Rai won the best gross award with 34 points and received iphone7, Taylormade M2 driver.

Dr Ranjeet Baral won the runner-up trophy in nett section on count back after he was tied on 36 points with Nareshwor Gurung and Maj Gen Mahesh Bikram Karki. Dr Baral scored 17 points on the back nine, while Gurung and Karki had 16. Baral received 60 degree Taylormade wedge and a dozen of  golf balls.

Likewise, Nareshwor Gurung bagged the senior section trophy on count back after he was tied with Maj Gen Karki on 36 points. The winner was separated by the count of last six holes as both the players had scored 16 points.

Pratima Sherpa lifted the women’s category title with 28 points, while Rekha Ghimire (27 points) was second. Sherpa received Taylormade golf bag and a dozen of golf balls, while Ghimire and second runner-up Pawitra Yakthumba (20) got gift hampers from Dabur Nepal.

Rabindra Man Shrestha, who scored 33 points, was awarded with special prize of a 24’ TLC television for finishing 10th. Also, Gopal Chitrakar won the closest-to-the-pin award, while Vijay Shrestha Einhaus got the longest drive trophy. A total of 90 golfers took part in the event sponsored by Naya Prakashan Pvt Ltd.

Former president of FNCCI Rabi Bhakta Shrestha, Member of Parliament Ichhya Raj Tamang, Chairman and Editor of Nayapatrika Krishna Jwala Devkota, President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire and Captain of Gokarna Golf Club Joseph Nathan handed over prizes to the winners.