Ilam clinch U-14 Inter-DDC Chairman Cup

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, January 24:

IIlam defeated Jhapa 2-1 in the final of the Tribhuvan Memorial Inter-DDC Chairman Cup Under-14 Football Tournament organised by All Nepal Football Association here today.

Jhapa, which made it to the final after a 2-0 win over Kailali in semi-final, took an early lead through Laxman Ale Magar in the third minute when he fired the ball into the net from the edge of the D-Box. In the 25th minute, Suman Khadka scored the equaliser following a rebound from Ujjwal Thapa. Ilam had qualified for the final with a 3-2 win over Lalitpur. The scores were level 1-1 at the half time. Nawa Youg Shrestha of Ilam doubled the tally in the nine minutes into the second half. Fed by skipper Manish Basnet from the right flank, Shrestha sealed the victory with his strike leaving Jhapa goalie Bishal Thapa stranded. Ilam were unlucky in the 45th minute when a goal scored by them was adjudged as offside. State minister for Local Development Krishan Gopal Shrestha gave away prizes.

B Division League


Devin Shrestha struck twice as Tushal Youth Club defeated Sano Gaucharan Youth Club 3-1 and Umesh Lama scored both the goals as Bouddha Football Club beat Naxal Youth Association 2-1 in the Martyrs’ Memorial ‘B’ Division League Football Tournament here at Dasharath Stadium today.

With the win, Bouddha earned 12 points and are on the top of the standings while Tushal are struggling with six points. Sano Gaucharan have four points, whereas Naxal have just one point. Tushal took lead through skipper Tirtha Lama in the 38th minute when he found the net following Dinesh Shrestha’s cross from the right flank. In the 49th minute, Devin Shrestha doubled the tally on Dinesh Shrestha’s cross.

Devin Shrestha capitalising on a chance when Sano Gaucharan goalkeeper Bishnu Tamang failed to gather the ball properly, on Krishna Shrestha’s attempt, added another goal in the 81st minute. Santosh Shrestha scored a consolation goal for Sano Gaucharan in the dying moments of the match.

In the other match, Naxal opened the scoring through Jebin Dhoj Shahi in the 36th minute when he found the net following a pass from Ranjit Kumar Majhi. For Bouddha, Umesh Lama scored the equaliser following Binod Gurung’s corner kick in the 41st minute. Lama, in an solo effort, sealed the victory for Bouddha in the 61st minute.