In brief

Deep Jyoti win

KATHMANDU: Deep Jyoti Secondary School topped the Group ‘A’ with a 3-1 win over Kailash Bodhi Secondary School in the Coca Cola School Selection Football on Tuesday. Sunil Basnet, Bijay Maharjan and Sudip Gurung scored a goal each for Deep Jyoti while Dawa Sherpa pulled back one for Kailash Bodhi. In another match, Nepal Centre School defeated Mahendra Bhrikuti School 3-1 to advance to the final of the Group ‘B’. Vimesh Bogati scored a brace and Sajan Karki added the third for Nepal Centre while Thir Kumar Lama converted for Mahendra Bhrikuti. In the Group ‘C’ encounter, Puspanjali edged past Loyala School 3-2 and Adarsha Saul Youth School overcame New English Secondary School 8-7 in sudden death after a 1-1 draw. — HNS

Greece beat Cyprus

PATRAS: Teenager Sotiris Ninis scored within five minutes of making his international debut and Greece beat Cyprus 2-0 on Monday in a pre-Euro 2008 friendly. The 18-year-old beat Cyprus goalkeeper Antonis Georgallidis with a low shot shortly after the opening kickoff, becoming the youngest player to score for Greece. Costas Katsouranis converted a penalty a second in the 58th minute, securing the match in which the Greeks dominated. Greece face Sweden to open the European Championship. The defending champion also play Russia and Spain in their first-round group. — AP

Canadian Masters invited

KATHMANDU: Four taekwondo Masters of Canadian Taekwondo are set to arrive in Kathmandu in September. Joe Cariati, Geofrey Ong, Dana Johnson and Boby Scot have accepted the invitation of Nepal International Taekwondo Federation (NITF), said NITF general secretary Omkar Budha Magar. The Masters will hold a training camp for Nepali coaches and players on September 4-6. — HNS

Para Olympics

KATHMANDU: President of the Nepal Para Olympic Committee Dipak Koirala inaugurated the selection tournament for the upcoming 13th International Para Olympics here on Tuesday. The International Para Olympics is scheduled to begin from September 6 in Beijing. Meanwhile, Pradeep Shrestha won tennis final in men’s section and Kamala Budhathoki claimed the women’s section. — HNS