India unveil eight World Cup venues

NEW DELHI: Mumbai will host the final and Mohali one of the semi-finals, according to the allocation of India’s share of matches in the 2011 cricket World Cup announced today.

India, which co-hosts the showpiece

event with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in February-March 2011, will organise 29 matches

at eight venues, the Indian cricket board said

in a statement. The full schedule of the

14-nation tournament is due to be announced in Mumbai on November 9.

The Wankhede stadium in Mumbai, being renovated for the World Cup, will host

three matches, including the final, while Mohali will stage one semi-final and two other

games. The one quarter-final alloted to India will be held in the western city of Ahmedabad, which will also host two more matches.

New Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore, Nagpur and Kolkata will each stage four matches, including one featuring the home team.

Sri Lanka will host 12 and Bangladesh eight of the remaining 20 games in the 49-match tournament after Pakistan were removed as co-hosts by the Innternational Cricket Council (ICC) due to security concerns. Sri Lanka will stage the other semi-final and one quarter-final, while Bangladesh will host the opening ceremony on February 18 and two quarter-finals.

The 14 teams have been divided into two groups with the top four from each qualifying for the quarter-finals. Group A features defending champions Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya. Group B comprises India, South

Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland and the Netherlands.