Cuttack, January 24:

India’s spinners stopped a thrilling run chase by the depleted West Indies here today to take a 2-0 lead in the four-match series.

India, out for 189, hit back to bowl out a West Indies for 169 in the day-night international match. Ramesh Powar picked up 3-42, Sachin Tendulkar took 2-25 and Harbhajan Singh finished with 1-29 to help India record a narrow win by 20 runs.

Left-hander Shivnarine Chanderpaul top-scored for the tourists with 67 before he was last man out, finding little support from the other batsmen.

The West Indies badly missed Brian Lara, who skipped the game after a chronic left knee injury flared up again, leaving opener Chris Gayle to lead the tourists’ bid to draw level in the series.

The West Indies enjoyed a great start when seamer Daren Powell picked up a career-best 4-27 to restrict India to 189. The Jamaican seamer ripped through the top order with the wickets of Sourav Ganguly (13), Tendulkar (0)and captain Rahul Dravid (22) in his first four overs.

India, reduced to 69-6 at one stage, were revived by a battling 63 from Dinesh Karthick and his 62-run stand for the eighth wicket with Ajit Agarkar (40). Agarkar was last man out after the final four wickets added a valuable 120 runs for the hosts.



G Gambhir c Ramdin b Bradshaw 2

S Ganguly c Morton b Powell 13

R Dravid b Powell 22

S Tendulkar c Bradshaw b Powell 0

D Karthick b Bradshaw 63

M Dhoni c & b Dwayne Smith 6

J Sharma b Powell 1

H Singh b Bravo 6

A Agarkar run out 40

R Powar b Bravo 5

Z Khan not out 7

Extras: 24 (lb3, nb1, w20)

Total: 189 (48.2 overs)

FoW: 1-4, 2-35, 3-35, 4-46, 5-66, 6-69, 7-90, 8-152, 9-163

West Indies bowling: Bradshaw 10-1-38-2, Taylor 10-1-38-0, Powell 10-2-27-4, Dwayne 9-1-34-1, Bravo 8.2-1-36-2, Gayle 1-0-13-0


C Gayle lbw b Agarkar 5

S Chanderpaul b Zaheer 67

D Smith run out 15

M Samuels c Gambhir b Harbhajan 1

D Bravo c Gamkbhir b Powar 31

R Morton b Powar 0

Dwayne c Powar b Tendulkar 25

D Ramdin b Powar 6

I Bradshaw c Gambhir b Tendulkar 2

D Powell run out 1

J Taylor not out 2

Extras: 14 (b6, lb3, w5)

Total: 169 (48.2)

FoW: 1-5, 2-41, 3-42, 4-85, 5-89, 6-139, 7-151, 8-163, 9-166

India bowling: Zaheer 8.2-0-25-1, Agarkar 8-2-23-1, Sharma 4-0-16-0, Harbhajan 10-3-29-1,

Powar 10-0-42-3, Tendulkar 8-0-25-2