Ivan, Avay set up championship battle

Lalitpur, December 17:

Ivan Lisanovic and Avay Gauchan have set a championship date in the seventh Jayakar Memorial Junior National Open Tennis Tournament, organised by Manjay Tennis Academy, at the Satdobato Lawn Tennis Court today.

Ivan eased to a 4-0 victory over Bipin Thapa while Avay registered a hard-fought 4-3 victory over E Segerson in the U-10 Boys singles semi-final matches. Entering into the final of the U-10 Girls’ singles final were Sakchhi Gurung and Janavi Nahata. Sakchhi eliminated Karma Gurung 4-1 and Janavi Nahata registered a crushing win 4-0 over Pratistha Shrestha.

In the U-14 Boys’ Doubles semi-final, Milan Rokka and Diwakar Ojha overcame the pair of Achal Thapa and Ananda Gauchan 7-5, 6-7, 6-4 while Sonam Funchhuk and Siddhartha Moktan eased to comfortable 6-1, 6-0 victory over Subi Shrestha and Bibek Thapa.

Making it to the final of the U-16 Girls’ final were Sagun Thapa and Pabitra Gurung. Sagun edged past Mina Gurung 6-1, 7-5 and Pabitra laboured to a 6-4, 3-6, 6-4 win over Srija Karki in semi-finals.

Likewise, advancing to the U-14 Boys’ singles quarter-finals were Niraj Wagle, Ayush Katri, Milan Rokka and Achal Thapa.

Niraj dispatched David Tako 6-1, 6-3 while Ayush rallied for a 4-6, 6-1, 7-6 win over Bramhand Moktan. Likewise, Milan defeated Subir Shrestha 6-3, 6-0 and Achal eased past Darshan Chalise 6-1, 6-1.

In other pre quarter-final matches of the U-14 Boys’ section, Sandesh Singh Rathaur beat Nil Pandey 6-2, 6-1, Pranjal Kayastha saw off Binod Gauchan 6-1, 6-0, Bibek Gauchan overcame Abhisekh Bastola 6-3, 6-3 and Diwakar Ojha cruised to an easy 6-1, 6-1 win over Dibhya Chalise.