Karki breaks 200m national record

Lalitpur, September 18:

Karishma Karki set a new national record in the women’s 200m freestyle during the 10th Galaxy Cup Age-group and Open Swimming Championship at the Satdobato Swimming Complex today.

The 2008 Beijing Olympics participant Karki won the Women’s Open 200m freestyle in 2 minutes and 37.75 seconds. She broke Shaila Rana’s previous record of 2:41.57 set during the 14th National Swimming Championship. Shreya Dhital of Lincoln and Shaila finished second and third respectively. Karki won Rs 5,000 for setting a new national record.

Karki also claimed two more gold medals in 100m freestyle and 50m backstroke in the Open section. She won 100m freestyle in 1:12.02 and 50m backstroke in 38.40 seconds. Veteran swimmer Nayana Shakya won silver and Shaila bagged bronze in 100m freestyle while Shaila claimed silver and Shreya won bronze medal in 50m backstroke.

Olympian Prasiddha Jung Shah also struck double gold Men’s Open. Shah won 100m freestyle in 1.4.03 minutes ahead of Sailesh Rana and Khim Bahadur KC. The Beijing Olympic participant also won 50m backstroke (34.73 seconds) gold beating Sailesh Rana and Khim Lal Tharu. Puspa Raj Shahi clinched the Men’s Open 100m backstroke gold with the timing of 1.18.35 seconds. Sailesh Rana and Khim Lal won silver and bronze respectively.

In the Age-group, Jitjwali Maharjan (U-12 girls) of Little Angels’ (LA) won the 50m backstroke gold medal with the timing of 49.14. Kabita Thapa of LA and Shristi Priya of Shuvatara claimed silver and bronze respectively. Other winners in girls’ section included Anjali Shyangbo of British School (U-10 50m backstroke), Pratistha Shrestha of LA (U-17 50m butterfly), Manisha Lama of Lincoln (U-14 50m backstroke), Jenisha Malla of LA (U-12 50m backstroke) and LA in U-17 girls’ 4X50m medley relay.

Manish Ghale of Shuvatara claimed the U-14 boys’ 50m butterfly gold ahead of Banin Shensah of Baba School and Bhuvan Puri of LA. Among others to strike gold medals in the boys’ Age-group section were Pravesh Adhikari of Baba (U-12 50m backstroke), Milan Thapa of LA (U-17 boys 100m freestyle), Shiris Gurung of Shuvatara (U-10 boys 50m backstroke), Banin Shensah (U-14 50m backstroke) and Prakash Adhikari of Baba (U-17 50m backstroke).