Oloumou scores a brace as the RayZrs set title decider with Dhangadhi FC


Kathmandu RayZrs outplayed Lalitpur City Football Club 3-0 in the second qualifier and advanced to the final of the Khukri Nepal Super League here at the Dasharath Stadium today.

Messouke E Oloumou scored a brace, while Stephen Binong netted one for Kathmandu, who advanced into the final in the second attempt.

Kathmandu had faced a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Dhangadhi in the first qualifier match on Tuesday, while Lalitpur had defeated Butwal-Lumbini FC 1-0 in the eliminator match on Wednesday.

Kathmandu and Dhangadhi will face each other in the final on Saturday.

Kathmandu took the lead in the 15th minute through Oloumou's goal from the spot.

Kamal Shrestha brought Oloumou down inside the danger zone and Kathmandu's foreign recruit converted the resulting penalty. Oloumou doubled the tally seven minutes later with a powerful shot from inside the box after receiving a pass from Tej Tamang.

Binong, who had struck against the cross bar in the ninth minute following a pass from Oloumou, put the issue beyond doubt in the 60th minute when he beat the offside trap, controlled a cross from Tej Tamang and fired past Lalitpur goalkeeper Arpan Tamang, who got his hands to the ball but failed to stop it from kissing the nets. In the only notable chance for Lalitpur throughout the match, Dona Thapa's free kick sailed inches over the bar.

Kathmandu had recorded a 1-0 victory over Lalitpur in the league round match. Oloumou was named the man of the match and he earned Rs 25,000, while his Kathmandu teammate Ashish Gurung lifted the emerging player's award along with Rs 10,000.

A total of seven teams took part in the first-ever franchise-based football tournament organised by Nepal Sports and Event Management Pvt Ltd under the sponsorship of Khukri. The winners of the tournament will be richer by Rs 3.5 million, while the runners-up will get Rs 1.5 million. The best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward and emerging player of the tournament will get Rs 100,000 each.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 14, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.