Khan triumphs

Kathmandu, June 7:

It seemed as if only the formalities had to be completed before Shamim Khan could play his final 18 holes and lift the Surya Nepal Masters Open 2008 title. And he completed with yet another sub-par round of 3-under 69 for a tournament tally of 23-under par 265 and a 11-shot victory to earn Rs 3,24,000.

Sri Lankan Anura Rohana brought in the day’s best card of 6-under 66 to finish second at 276, ahead of a Vijay Kumar, who came third at 278. Sujjan Singh was fourth at 280 while Harinder Gupta with a final round of 72 finished fifth. Gurbaaz Mann finished sixth at 283. Deepak Neupane with another brilliant round of 4-under 68 emerged as the best Nepali pro tying for the seventh place along with Vinod Kumar and Sanjay Kumar at 284. Amardip Malik and Nepali sensation Shiva Ram Shrestha were tied for the 10th place at 286.

Bangladesh won the International Amateur Event by a margin of 26 strokes. The duo of Shekawat Hussain and Shahid aggregated 579 for Bangladesh. The team of Rupak Acharya and Tashi Ghale helped Nepal ‘A’ finish second while India finished third.