Kits, scholarships handed over

Kathmandu, February 6

Cricket Department of Madan Bhandari Sports Academy today distributed kits and scholarships to the young cricketers selected from a talent hunt programme organised during the first Grand Cricket Carnival at the TU Stadium on January 19-20.

Ten cricketers  — Kamal Khatri, Amrit Thapa, Dinesh Buda Magar, Krishma Gurung, Ashok Poudel, Khushi Dangol, Afzal Ali, Anurodh Panta, Ram Suret Yadav and Raunak Parajuli — received full kits worth Rs 15,000 and one-year free training. Three others, Ajay Dev, Rupendra Shrestha and Pratik Dahal got free training facilities.

The kits were sponsored by Sushil Koirala Memorial Foundation, while scholarships were granted by Great Himalayan Cricket Academy, Lyceum Cricket Academy, Baluwatar Cricket Training Centre and Madan Bhandari Cricket Academy. The players were selected from among around 500 who registered for the talent hunt.

President of Madan Bhandari Sports Academy Binod Shrestha, Member Secretary of Sushil Koirala Memorial Foundation Atul Koirala, former President of Federation of Nepali Journalists Bishnu Nisthuri and President of Cricket Department at Madan Bhandari Sports Academy Sudeep Sharma among others handed over the kits and scholarships to the selected cricketers.