KU reach semis; Capital College win

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, April 18:

Ritesh Adhikari scored a half century and Deepak Sharma took 6-19 as Kathmandu University (KU) beat Tri-Chandra College by 30 runs and entered the semi-finals of the 2nd Himalayan Cup Inter-college Cricket Tournament, which has been jointly organised by Himalayan White House International College and The Himalayan Times, here today. Batting first after winning the toss at St Xavier’s ground, KU accumulated 166 runs losing four wickets n their allotted 25 overs, riding on Ritesh Adhikari’s half century. Opener Robin Thapa was bowled out by Amit Lohani for a first-ball duck, while other opener Adhikari hit 11 fours and a six in his 45-ball 60. Lohani again struck for Tri-Chandra trapping No 3 Suyesh Pradhan leg before, also for a duck, whereas Piyush Saiju scored 45 off 71 balls including five fours. Anuj Raut scored an unbeaten 32 off just 14 balls, while Sunil Shrestha remained unbeaten on 23 off 10 balls. Both the not out batsmen hit three fours and a six each.

For Tri-Chandra, Lohani took 2-8 off five overs, while Anil Adhikari and Niraj Basnet claimed one wicket each. In reply, Tri-Chandra could muster 136 runs losing nine wickets. Saroj Kumar Lal top-scored with 30 off 37 balls, while Amit Lohani hit four fours in his 28-ball 27. Bishow Lama scored 21 and Suman Uday made 14. For KU, Man of the match Deepak Sharma

took 6-19 off five overs, while Anuj Raut claimed two and Sanjay Thapa pocketed one wicket.

In the other match, Capital College entered the quarter-finals with a thumping eight-wicket victory over Don Bosco. Batting first, Don Bosco were bowled out for 88 rus in 23.4 overs. Daniel Shrestha top-scored with 16, while Rohan Shrestha and Arjun Rayamajhi scored 13 runs each and Rupak Gautam scored 12. Others failed to reach double figure mark. For Capital College, Ayush Shrestha took three wickets, whereas Avay Rana, Raj Shrestha and Raunak Malla claimed two wickets each.

In reply, Capital College overcame the target losing two wickets in 10.3 overs. Opener Raj Shrestha scored run-a-ball 23 including two fours and a six before being bowled by Sushil Thapa, while other opener Bikash Dali hit five fours and a six in his unbeaten 36 off 30 balls. Niraj Bhattarai was bowled by Ashish Gupta for seven, and Avay Rana hit two boundaries in his unbeaten two-ball eight. Raj Shrestha was declared the man of the match.