LA win football title

LALITPUR: Little Angels’ School beat St Xavier’s Godavari ‘A’ 3-1 to win the title of the 22nd Fr Moran Memorial Invitational Primary Football Tournament here on Saturday.

Bhargab Silwal scored a brace and Lakshya Maharjan netted a goal for LA, while Abhinav Bista replied for St Xavier’s.

Crescent Academy beat Moran Memorial 3-1 in the third place playoff match. Puspak Rai, Sovakar Rokaya and Mohit Tamang scored a goal each for Crescent, while Gangaram Rajbanshi pulled one for Moran.

Meanwhile, Nepal Don Bosco’s Nischal KC was named the best player of the tournament, while Crescent’s Mohit Tamang was declared the best defender. St Xavier’s Godavari’s Subham Silwal was the best goalkeeper, Bhargab Silwal of LA was the highest scorer and LA’s Rajendra Karki was named the best coach.

Regional Superior of Nepal Jesuit Society, Father Boniface Tigga, SJ, handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised by St Xavier’s Godavari School.