Lalitpur, Dharan in last eight

Pokhara, August 18:

Lalitpur Sub-metropolitan City and Dharan Municipality cruised to the quarter-finals of the third Inter-municipality Football Tournament here at the Pokhara Stadium today.

Lalitpur hammered Putali Bazaar Municipality of Syangja 9-3 and Dharan humiliated Nepalgunj Municipality 8-0. Pokhara Sub-metropolitan City and Madhyapur Thimi have already made it to the last eight.

In the first game of the day, Ranjit Shrestha, Raj Kumar Ghising and Sishir Adhikari scored a brace each while Ukesh Shrestha, Jaggu Nath Khadka and Raj Kumar KC added one goal apiece for Lalitpur. Santosh Shrestha, Shakti Gurung and Rajesh Khand netted one goal each for Putali Bazaar, who had crushed Amargadi Municipality 15-0 in the earlier round. Lalitpur will meet Dharan in the quarter-finals.

In the second game, Dharan scored four goals either side of the break. Niraj Khadka, Robin Rai and Buddha Chemjong netted two goals each while Yogesh Shrestha and Santosh Gurung also joined the goal-feast scoring a goal apiece.