Lalitpur register remarkable victory

Kathmandu, October 29:

Lalitpur defeated Kathmandu by 14 runs to clinch the Region No 3 (Kathmandu) U-17 Selection

Cricket Tournament here today.

Lalitpur made 104-4 in 25 overs after skipper Nasim Akhtar won the toss and elected to bat first. Kathmandu were all out for 90 runs in 23.3 overs. Lalitpur finished the four-team league unbeaten earning nine points from three games. Kathmandu, who had also won previous two matches, finished runners up with six points. Nuwakot also won one match but Bhaktapur ended the campaign without a win.

Pramod Yadav and Pawan Shrestha scored 28 runs each while skipper Nasim Akhtar remained unbeaten on 24 for Lalitpur. Bijay Gautam took 2-18 from four overs for Kathmandu while three batsmen were run out.

Chasing 105 runs to win, Kathmandu were cruising along nicely at 49-0 until Pradeep Awale struck for Lalitpur in the 12th over. Awale broke the 50-run opening partnership between Ayush Rana and Shuvankar Bahadur Singh. Awale had Singh, who scored 28 off 48 balls, caught behind to reduce Kathmandu to 50-1.

Man of the match Awale, who finished with 4-20, took three more wickets and two more run outs in between meant Kathmandu were reduced to 6-66 in the 19th over. Samim Akhtar (2-18) and Nasim Akhtar (1-17) then cleaned up the Kathmandu tail to complete the remarkable victory.