Lama claims golf title

Kathmandu, October 10

Sonam Norbu Lama won the title of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Lama claimed the nett category trophy in count back after a three-way tie on two-under 70 with Bijay Bahadur Shrestha and Purna Man Shakya in the eighth edition of the tournament. Shrestha came second, while Shakya was third.

Lama, a 13-handicap amateur golfer, scored three-over 39 gross (32.5 nett) on the back nine, while 17-handicapper Shrestha scored 42 (33.5 nett) and 13-handicapper Shakya shot 41 (34.5 nett) on the

latter half.

The gross section winner was also decided on count back, with Gopal Chitrakar winning the trophy after being tied with SSP Rajendra Shrestha on eight-over 80. Chitrakar played three-over 39 on the back nine, whereas Shrestha shot five-over 41. Mayank Dahal won the junior category title with the score of three-over 75.

In all, 32 players participated in the tournament, organized by Gokarna Golf Club under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. The tournament was played under stroke play full handicap format. Executive Committee Member of Gokarna Golf Club Phintso Ongdi Lama handed over the prizes to the winners.

After the eight rounds of the tournament, Kishan Agrawal is at the top of the nett category leaderboard with 184 points, while SSP Rajendra Shrestha is second at 142, followed by Purna Man Shakya (136), Sonam Norbu Lama (136) and Bijay Bahadur Shrestha (130). In gross section, Prithivi Malla leads the table with 300 points, whereas SSP Shrestha is

second with 290. Gopal Chitrakar (244) and Tendi Sherpa (230) are third and fourth, while Brian Fawcett and Vijay Einhaus share fifth position with 100 points.

In junior section, Mayank Dahal leads the standing with 380 points, ahead of Sam Doublard (340), Shreeyog Basnyat (240), Aditi Ghimire (140) and Tenzing Tsering (100). A total of 10 monthly medal rounds will be played until December and top 30 in nett, top 10 in gross and top five in junior sections will qualify for the finals, which will be played over two rounds in January and February next year.