Lama lifts trophy

KATHMANDU: Capt Nima Lama accumulated 38 net points to win the 20th Dr Hayata Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Course today.

Lama edged Niranjan Sharma by two points to win the annual event. Dorji Tsering Sherpa was the best gross winner with 26 points. Sumitra Dayananda claimed the ladies section title with 36 points, five points ahead of Pawitra Yakthumba. Likewise, Madhukar Yakthumba won the senior section (above-55yrs) with 32 points, two points better than Sher Bahadur Pandey. PL Thapa scored 14 points to win the super senior section (above-80) played over nine holes.

Winners in other categories include Rabindra Man Shrestha (longest drive), Dorji Tsering Sherpa (close-to-the-pin), Sher Bahadur Pandey (most birdies), Deepak Rajbhandari (lucky 20th position), Kencho Lama and Samir Acharya (rookie prizes) and Prajwalla SJB Rana (best sportsman).