Local briefs

NSC donates Rs 352,269

KATHMANDU: The National Sports Council (NSC) decided to donate Rs 352,269 to the Prime Minister Relief Fund for the flood victims of the country. The amount was raised from the one-day salary of all the staff members working at all levels of the sports supreme body, five-day salary of member secretary Jeevan Ram Shrestha and one-time meeting allowance of all the board members of the council, said the NSC in a release on Wednesday. — HNS

Ganesh Thapa nominated

KATHMANDU: The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) president Ganesh Thapa has been nominated in various international committees. Thapa, who was elected the AFC member for four years recently, was reappointed the chairman of the AFC President’s Cup and AFC Challenge Cup organising committees, and nominated the member of the AFC Referees Committee, said ANFA in a release on Wednesday. Thapa was also nominated as the organising committee member of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup. — HNS

ITF names convenors

KATHMANDU: The Nepal International Taekwondo Federation ( Nepal ITF) nominated Prabin Kumar Karki (Eastern), Shanti Tamang (Central), Yam Bahadur Rana (Western), Anju Raut (Mid-western) and Nanda Kishor Barma (Far-western) as the regional convenors for the development of the sport across the country. Senior coach Anjunath Shrestha was given the responsibility of chief coach, while Krishna Gopal Rajthala was named the chief of Umpire Committee. Similarly, Prabin Kumar Karki was nominated the tournament convenor and Milan Shrestha was named the chief of exhibition committee, said the Nepal ITF following their meeting also attended by coaches. — HNS

Serious fun cricket

KATHMANDU: Shangri-La Cricket Academy is organising the EBL Inter-Bank Serious Fun Cricket Tournament from August 3-11 at The British School. In all, 12 teams are taking part in the event aimed to raise funds to promote cricket in Nepal setting up free cricket clinics on regular basis, said the academy at a press meet. The participating 12 teams are Nabil Bank, Nepal Investment Bank, Machhapuchhre Bank, Himalayan Bank, Clean Energy Development Bank, Ace Development Bank, Everest Bank, Bank of Kathmandu, Nepal Bangladesh Bank, Rastriya Banijya Bank, NIC Bank and World Bank. — HNS

General Council meeting

KATHMANDU: The first General Council meeting of the Women’s Commission under the Nepal Olympic Committee was held here on Wednesday. NOC vice president Ravi Raj Thapa and director general Ravi Rajkarnikar presented the orientation at the programme. Women’s Commission president Geeta Rana (Chhetri) and secretary general Usha Basnyat expressed their views on the occasion. — HNS