local briefs

Bal Kumari in final

KATHMANDU: Bal Kumari Higher Secondary School and Shramik Shanti Higher Secondary School advanced to the Group ‘E’ final of the Coca-Cola Inter-school National Football Tournament qualifiers here at the Sanogaucharan grounds on Tuesday. Bal Kumar edged past Arun Deep Academy 2-1. Prashant Tamang scored a brace for Bal Kumari in the 40th and 70th minutes. Brajesh Adhikari pulled one back for Arun Deep. In the other semi-final, Shramik Shanti laboured to a 4-3 win over Sharada Higher Secondary School in tie-breaker after a goalless draw in normal time. — HNS

Twenty20 school cricket

KATHMANDU: Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), in association with Youth and Sports Ministry and National Sports Council, is organizing the Inter-Secondary School National Boys Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here from June 8-12. In all, 20 district teams assigned by the ministry will compete for the championship, said CAN in a release. The tournament will be played in two venues — Tribhuvan University Stadium and Laboratory School grounds. Jhapa, Sunsari, Dhanusa, Rupandehi, Bara, Bardia, Palpa, Kailali, Surkhet and Kathmandu are in Group ‘A’ while Parsa, Kanchanpur, Mahottari, Banke, Dang, Makawanpur, Saptari, Rautahat, Lalitpur and Morang are pitted in Group ‘B’. — HNS

Damak triumph

KATHMANDU: Damak Municipality defeated Banepa Municipality 25-16, 23-25, 25-18, 25-13 in the first Inter-Municipality Men’s Volleyball Tournament here at the National Sports Council covered hall on Tuesday. In other matches of the day, Madhyapur Thimi saw off Birendranagar Municipality 25-20, 25-10, 26-24 and Panauti outplayed Bhaktapur Municipality 25-20, 25-12, 25-22. Dhulikhel got walkover win from Nepalgunj Municipality. In all, 12 teams are participating in the tournament organised by Nepal Volleyball Association. — HNS

Nepal Commerce win

KATHMANDU: Nepal Commerce Campus and Sahid Ram Nath Campus recorded wins in the third Valleywide Inter-campus Professors Volleyball Tournament on Tuesday. Nepal Commerce beat Patan Campus 25-11, 25-16 and Sahid Ram Nath Campus defeated Padma Kanya Campus ‘Red’ 25-19, 25-18. — HNS