Local briefs

LA enter final

LALITPUR: Nutan Gauchan scored a hat-trick as Little Angels’ School overwhelmed Manju Shree School 6-2 and entered the final of the sixth Valleywide Inter-school Football Tournament, which has been organised by Gyanodaya School. Rajesh struck twice, while Krishna Raj netted one for LA. Silas Rai scored both the goals for Manju Shree. On Wednesday Gyanodaya Bal Batika will take on Lab School in the other semi-final match. — HNS

Milan basketball

KATHMANDU: Gyanodaya Bal Batika thrashed Occidental 50-4 riding on Sajina Pokhrel’s 24 points in the fifth-day match at the third Milan Inter-school Girls’ Basketball Tournament. In other matches, Young Heart School beat Gyan Niketan 14-11; TIA defeated New Buddha School 22-16; GEMS outplayed Triyuga 22-16; Rato Bangala defeated Prithvi School 21-10; and Ideal Model overwhelmed Little Angels’ School 31-7. — HNS

Sharma nominated

KATHMANDU: Govardan Nath Sharma, president of Nepal Weight Lifting Association, has been appointed the treasurer of the National Sports Council. Sharma was recently nominated as the member of the NSC by the cabinet. — HNS

Singh elected prez

KATHMANDU: The general assembly of Nepal Athletics Association has elected an executive committee under the presidentship of National Sports Council’s member secretary Kishor Bahadur Singh. In all, 18 members stood for the elections of other 10 members and Punya Prasad Sigdel, Dhanbir Chaudhary, Sushil Narsing Rana, Malati Sodari, Biswo Prakash Thapa, Rajan Khatri, Kishor Lal Amatya, Aashit SJB Rana, Kamal Kumar Lama and Tejendra Thapa were elected. The meeting held after the elections also nominated Biswo Prakash Thapa as the vice president, Sushil Narsing Rana in the post of general secretary, Rajan Khatri as joint secretary and Kamal Kumar Lama as the treasurer. — HNS

Ratna Cup soccer

LALITPUR: Green Land, New Buddha Prakash, Birat, Tri-Padma, and SOS schools have registered wins in the day’s matches of the Ratna Cup Inter-school Football Tournament, which has been organised by ANFA. Green Land defeated Mahendra Vidyashram 4-1; New Buddha thrashed LRI 6-0; Birat School edged past Daffodil 3-2; Tri-Padma outplayed Future Star 5-0; and SOS School defeated Bani Bilas 5-3. — HNS