Local briefs

Cricketers to depart

KATHMANDU: A 17-member Nepali cricket team is leaving for Sri Lanka to play three friendly matches against the local teams as part of their preparation for the ACC Elite Cup slated for July 23 to August 3 in Malaysia. Binod Kumar Das has been named the captain while Paras Khadka will be his deputy. Other players include Shakti Gauchan, Mehboob Alam, Basanta Regmi, Sanjam Regmi, Amrit Bhattarai, Dipendra Chaudhary, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Kanishka Chaugain, Paresh Lohani, Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar and Mahesh Chhetri. Cricket Association of Nepal member Pawan Kumar Agrawal is the manager. Roy Luke Dias is the coach while Samsung Jung Thapa his assistant. — HNS

National Chess

KATHMANDU: Nepal Chess Association (NCA), in coordination with Lalitpur District Chess Association, is organising the 15th National Chess Tournament in Lalitpur on August 16-22. In all, 94 players from 33 districts will take part in the tournament, said the organisers here at a press meet on Monday. Forty NCA rated players have been given automatic entry while others have to play the qualification matches in their respective districts. The estimated costs of the tournament is Rs 470,220, said the organisers. The top 10 players will be awarded with cash prizes. Likewise, the top five finishers will also get the opportunity to represent Nepal in the 37th Chess Olympiad slated for November. — HNS

NOC meeting

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) on Monday condemned individuals, without naming anyone in particular, for spreading misleading information against them. “Misleading information have disheartened the players who are selected for the Beijing Olympics,” the NOC release said. “We assure all the players not to believe in any such misleading reports as your participation in the Olympics is confirmed,” the release added. The NOC also said that it will take action against the NOC members who are found to have worked against the Olympic movement. The meeting also decided to make amendments in the NOC by-laws as directed by the International Olympic Committee. — HNS