Local briefs

Prime beat K&K

KATHMANDU: Prime College defeated K&K College 71-54 in the final of the second Benoj Memorial Inter-College (+2) Basketball Tournament organised by All Nepal National Independent Students’ Union (Revolutionary). Sadish Pradhan of Prime top-scored in the match with 22 points. The winners received Rs 50,000, while the runners-up got Rs 30,000. — HNS

BASC felicitate Bista

LALITPUR: Buddha Air Sports Committee (BASC) on Monday honoured taekwondo ace Deepak Bista, who qualified for the 2008 Beijing Olympics, with cash award and felicitaion letter. Executive Chairman of Buddha Air Surendra Bahadur Basnet handed over the felicitation letter to Bista, while senior pilot Capt D B Basnet gave away Rs 11,111. Bista is the second Nepali player to qualify for the Olympics after taekwondo queen Sangina Baidya did so for the Athens Olympics in 2004. — HNS

ANTTA election held

KATHMANDU: The third general assembly of All Nepal Table Tennis Association (ANTTA) on Monday unanimously elected the 11-member executive committee under the presidentship of Chaturananda Rajvaidya. Rajesh Man Shrestha and Sushila Shrestha are the vice presidents, while Param Bir Shumsher Raba was elected the general secretary. Basanta Nakarki and Pawan Thapa are the secretary and treasurer respectively. The members of the newly elected committee are Shankar Gautam, Sandhya Shakya, Sudil Shahi, Ram Gopal Chaguthi and Sujan Shakya. A total of 62 representatives took part in the assembly. — HNS

National Karate

KATHMANDU: Nepal Kyukoshin Karate Do Association (NKKDA) is organising the 14th National Men’s and seventh National Women’s Full Contact Karate Championship on March 22 and 23 in Kathmandu. Around 85 players — 50 in men’s Open Weight category and 35 in women’s Heavy Weight (Above 50kg) and Light Weight (Under 50kg) categories — are expected to take part in the event that offers three gold medals and Rs 60,000 cash prize, said Jagat Gauchan, President of NKKDA at a press meet on Monday. Apart from the medals and certificates, the top three winners and the best player in men’s section will receive Rs 25,000, Rs 10,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,000 respectively. Likewise, the top three finishers and the best player each in both the women’s categories will get Rs 5,000, Rs 2,500, Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 respectively. — HNS