MMC extend winning streak

Kathmandu, December 1

Signature Manang Marshyangdi Club defeated Saraswoti Youth Club 2-0 to maintain the lead in the Pulsar Martyrs Memorial A Division League here today.

Anjan Bista and Afeez Olawale scored in the second half for MMC, who extended their winning run to five matches and accumulated 15 points. After a goalless first half, Bista opened the scoring in the 55th minute with a volley from the edge of the area. Olawale sealed MMC’s victory in the 78th minute following a long pass from Bimal Rana Magar.

In another match, CMG Club Sankata defeated Valley Chyasal Youth Club 2-1 riding on goals from Amit Tamang and Ellon Maxwell.  Santosh Sahukhala pulled one for Chyasal. With the win, Sankata accumulated 12 points to move to third position, while Chyasal have four points.

Tamang opened the scoring for Sankata in the 22nd minute. Chhiring Gurung of Chyasal handled the ball inside the box and Tamang converted the resulting penalty. Maxwell doubled the lead in the 49th minute when he found the back of the nets following a cross from Nitin Thapa.

Chyasal cut the deficit  in the 87th minute. Chyasal earned a penalty after Sankata defender Saroj Dahal brought down Sahukhala inside the penalty area and the former national team striker scored from the spot.