MPC blank Brigade Boys

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, April 18:

Mahendra Police Club (MPC) defeated Brigade Boys Club 5-0 in the day’s match of the Martyrs’ Memorial Everest ‘A’ Division League Football Tournament here at Dasharath Stadium today. Parbat Pandey of MPC opened the scoring in the 25th minute on a rebound, while Ramesh Budhathoki doubled the tally after a minute, when he netted the ball into the empty net. In the 39th minute, MPC’s Raju Katuwal added one more goal for his team through a header on a long pass from Hari Khadka from the left wing to take a 3-0 first half lead.

In an one-sided affair, Ananta Thapa made it 4-0 in the 53rd minute following a cross from his teammate Raju Katuwal. In the 86th minute, Hari Khadka collected a pass from Ananta Thapa and set the ball for Jumanu Rai, who scored the fifth goal for the last year’s runner-up.

Brigade Boys Club, the new entrant in the A Division, missed a couple of chances in the match thoroughly dominated by the policemen. In the 35th minute, Prem Bahadur Rana was close to scoring but his powerful shot from outside the D-Box went inches above the cross bar. In the 75th minute, on Tenzin David Sherpa’s cross from the left flank, Brigade Boys Club skipper Milan Chandra Rai failed to score as the ball hit the outer edge of the cross bar and went out.

The second half injury time offered Brigade Boys a chance but Aakash Chatyal’s 40-yarder powerful shot went wide.

Hari Khadka of MPC almost scored in the 69th minute, but he ended up hitting the post, and the ball rebounded to play, but none of the MPC players were around to convert the ball.

On Monday, New Road Team (NRT) will take on Kathmandu Club and Three Star Club will play against Tribhuvan Army Club.