Nabil Bank advance to semi-finals

KATHMANDU: Nabil Bank defeated Kantipur Group by five wickets and advanced to the semi-final of the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Super Sixes Cricket Tournament here at the TU Sadium today.

Both Nabil Bank and Kantipur

have four points but the former secured the last four berth on head-to-head record regardless of the outcome of their last match against Surya Nepal, who lost both their matches in Super League round.

Electing to bat first, Kantipur scored 59-1 and Nabil Bank overcame the target losing one wicket in 4.3 overs. Suraj Singh Thakuri retired after scoring 33 off 15 balls for Kantipur. For Nabil Bank, Laxman Joshi scored an unbeaten 23 off 12 balls, while Sameer Shakya scored 12-ball 20.

In other Super League round matches, Indian Embassy, Nagarik Media, Nepal SBI Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, Laxmi Bank and Kantipur Group registered wins.

While Nabil advanced from Group D, the other three groups are wide open. Nepal SBI Bank lead Group A with four points from three matches, while Citizen International Bank, who have played two matches, and Spice Nepal, who have two matches in hand, have two points each. Indian Embassy are atop Group B with four points from two matches, while Himalayan Bank and NMB Bank have two points each. In Group C, Laxmi Bank and Standard Chartered Bank have four points apiece and NIC Bank have two points from two matches.

In the day’s first match, Indian Embassy beat Bank of Asia by 57 runs. Batting first, Indian Embassy scored 87-4 riding on Alok Kumar’s 25 and Arjan Singh’s 20 and restricted Bank of Asia for 30-4. Nagarik Media (44-1) defeated Surya Nepal (33-2) by 11 runs in a low-scoring tie.

In a match between two banks, Nepal SBI Bank outplayed Citizens Bank by five wickets. Batting first,

Citizens scored 47-5, while SBI reached 48-1 in 4.4 overs with Min

Bahadur Gurung scoring an unbeaten 27 off 13 balls. SBI Bank returned

to beat Nepal Investment Bank by five runs in their second match of the

day. SBI Scored 57-2 and restricted Investment for 52-3.

Also, Avinash Chhetri scored 30

off 16 balls and Subash Sharma

remained unbeaten on 18 off 13 balls as Standard Chartered Bank registered a narrow four-run victory over NIC Bank. Standard Chartered scored 56-1 in five overs and restricted

NIC for 52-2. In the other match between the banks, Laxmi Bank (40-1) overpowered Kumari (37-2) by five wickets. In the day’s last match, Kantipur Group (44-0) defeated Nagarik Media (43-2) by six wickets.