Naxal Challengers beat Bishal Bazar

KATHMANDU: Naxal Challengers, City Centre Challengers, Kalimati Challengers and Kuleshwor Jerseys won the inaugural day matches of the first Marwari Twenty20 Cricket Tournament on Saturday.

In the first match held at LAB School grounds, Naxal beat Bishal Bazar Blasters by 46 runs. Batting first, Naxal scored 141-9 and packed Bishal Bazar for 95 runs in 16.4 overs. Sumit Sharma top scored for Naxal with 32-ball 35, while Gaurav Jain contributed 19. Rahul Goyal and Anupam Sharma took three wickets each for Bishal Bazar.

In reply, Hitesh Dalmiya scored a fluent half century but Bishal Bazar failed to capitalise on his efforts. Dalmiya hit seven fours in his 38-ball 50. Man of the match Rahul Bansal and Amol Singh took three wickets apiece for Naxal.

In the second match, City Centre defeated Tip Top XI by 27 runs. City Centre scored 144-9 and restricted Tip Top for 117-9. Pradeep Bothra scored 21-ball 33 hitting eight fours, while

Rohit Sanghai struck three fours and a six in his 16-ball 28. Sandeep Gadai scored an unbeaten 25 off 18 balls that included four fours and a six. Dinesh Agrawal took 5-16 for Tip Top. In reply, Ravi Sharma scored 24 and Rishi Choumal remained unbeaten on 17 for Tip

Top. Bimal Singhania took 4-20 and man of the match Rohit Sanghai claimed 3-23 for City Centre.

At Modern Indian School grounds, Kalimati Challengers outplayed Rising Nepal by 64 runs.Kalimati scored 137-8 in 20 overs, while Rising Nepal were bundled out for 73 runs in 11.4 overs. Sushil Lalwani scored 39-ball 47 hitting six fours and a six, while Pankaj Kocher struck five fours in his 36-ball 45. For Rising Nepal, Vishad Dugar took 3-27. Bikash Rathod and Pradeep Garg scored 14 runs each for Rising Nepal. Ajit Chopra of Kalimati completed the five wicket haul taking 5-22 in 3.4 overs.

Likewise, Kuleshwor Jersey's beat Kathmandu Kings XI by two wickets. Invited to take the first strike, Kathmandu scored 115-7, while Kuleshwor overcame the target losing eight wickets in 19 overs. Man of the match Ramesh Sharma scored 28 and Pankaj Sharma added 26 for Kathmandu Kings. Raju Nemani and Bikash Luniya took two wickets each for Kuleshwor.

Jayanta Agrawal top scored for Kuleshwor with 30 off 26 balls including three fours and a six, while Kapil Bansal scored 19. Ramesh Sharma and Dharmendra Vat each took 3-20, while Sushil Kumar Upadhyaya claimed 2-13 for Kathmandu Kings XI.