Nepal APF clinch volleyball title

Kathmandu, June 29

Defending champions Nepal APF Club won the title of the Yeti Flooring National Women’s Volleyball Tournament here on Wednesday.

In the final played at the National Sports Council covered hall, APF defeated Nepal Police Club 25-16, 25-20, 25-11. With the title, APF bagged Rs 100,000, while NPC received Rs 60,000. In the third place play-off, New Diamond Academy beat Western Region 25-14, 25-19, 23-25, 25-17. They earned Rs 40,000.

Saraswoti Chaudhary of APF was adjudged the best player of the tournament and received Rs 15,000 along with a mountain flight ticket from Buddha Air. Pratibha Mali of New Diamond Academy bagged the best spiker’s award, while Nebik Chaudhary, Usha Bista and Binita Budhathoki were named the best server, blocker and setter respectively. Kamala Pun of NPC received the best defender’s award, while APF’s Sudesh Kumar Rimal was named the best coach.

Member Secretary of National Sports Council Keshab Kumar Bista, President of Nepal Volleyball Association Manoranjan Raman Sharma, Immediate Past President Dan Bahadur Tamang and President of Sher Bahadur Memorial Trust Ranjan Khadka handed over the prizes to the winners. A total of six teams participated in the three-day tournament.