Nepal APF Club defeated Province-I by seven wickets in the final of the Prime Minister Cup Women's National Cricket Tournament at the Fapla cricket grounds today.

Batting first, Province-I scored 67-7 in their allotted 20 overs before APF raced to 68-3 with 34 balls to spare.

Skipper Rubina Chhetri top scored for Province-I with 34 off 46 balls that included three fours, while Apsari Begam (11) was the only other batter to contribute in double figures. APF skipper Sita Rana Magar took 3-12 and that also earned her the player-of-the-match award, while Rekha Rawal grabbed 2-11 and Karuna Bhandari pocketed one.

In reply, Jyoti Pandey and Mamta Chaudhary added 33 runs for the unbroken fourth wicket to steer APF to victory.

Opener Pandey scored an unbeaten 36 off 39 balls that included six boundaries, while Chaudhary struck two fours in her 23-ball 19 not out. Province-I skipper Rubina Chhetri took 3-10.

Champions APF received Rs 500,000 along with the trophy and runners-up Province-I got Rs 300,000.

Province-I clean swept the individual awards. Skipper Chhetri, who scored 157 runs and took eight wickets in five matches, was adjudged the player of the series and she earned Rs 25,000. Her teammates Apsari Begam and Alisha Khadiya bagged the best batter and bowler awards respectively and they got Rs 15,000 each. Began scored 176 runs including two half centuries in five matches, while Khadiya took nine wickets.

A version of this article appears in the print on December 27, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.