NCS set final date with Makawanpur

Pokhara, June 16

Nepal Cricket School United and Makawanpur Cricket Academy advanced to the final of the Sponsor U-16 Academy Cup here at the Machhapuchhre Cricket Club grounds today.

In the semi-final matches, NCS United thrashed Kasthamandap Cricket Academy by eight wickets, while Makwanpur recorded a 77-run win against Pokhara Cricket Academy. The final match is slated for Saturday.

In the first semi-final match reduced to 18-over-a-side, Kasthamandap posted a paltry 54-8 after electing to bat first, while NCS United raced to victory in just 6.2 overs with eight wickets in hand.

Kasthamandap were restricted to a low score as Ronak Goyal was the lone batsman to score in double figures with 11 off 46 balls. NCS United’s Rijan Thapa claimed two wickets, while Pratish GC, Bigyan Gautam, Nitesh Yadav and Shashank Agrawal took one wicket apiece.

In reply, opener Birat Bhandari top scored with 16 off 19 balls hitting three boundaries, while Gautam Rit remained unbeaten on eight-ball 16 with the help of two boundaries and a six. Sachin Sharma scored 11-ball 15 that included two boundaries and a six to guide the team to comfortable victory. Kasthamandap’s Saman Shrestha took one wicket.

In the second semi-final match, Makawanpur scored 153-9 in their allotted 20 overs before packing Pokhara to 76 runs in 18.1 overs.

Makawanpur posted a mammoth total thanks to Bishal Mandal’s 37-ball 52 that included four boundaries and three sixes. Himal Pun, who hit two boundaries, scored 39 off 48 balls, while Shubha Kansakar cracked three boundaries and a six in his five-ball 18. Pokhara’s Mekh Bahadur Sen took 3-28, while Navin karki and Buddhiman Tamang claimed two wickets each and Sushant Giri took one wicket.

In reply, Pokhara batsmen failed to build partnerships and were dismissed cheaply. Muskan Thapa (13), Navin Karki (12) and Sagar Koirala (10) were the only players who scored in double figures. Sakar Gajurel was the pick of the Makawanpur bowlers claiming 4-19, while Raju Yadav, Himal Pun, Sarans Gautam, Suraj Timalsina and Shubha Kansakar took one wicket apiece.