Nepal cricket squad announced for MCC match

KATHMANDU: The International Cricket Council on Monday announced a 15-member Nepal cricket team for a practice match against the English Marylebone Cricket Club.

The Paras Khadka-led squad would play a match with the MCC on July 19 at the English club's home ground, Lord's, in London.

After the world cricket governing body suspended the Cricket Association of Nepal accusing the Nepal government of political interference, the ICC has been managing team selection and other affairs for Nepali cricket teams in itself.

The ICC had formed a three-member team including Nepal cricket coach Jagat Tamatta, captain Paras Khadka and ICC Asia Development Officer Venkatapathy Raju to select the squad.

Gyanendra Malla has been named vice-captain of the team. Other members of the team include Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun, Binod Bhandari, Subas Khakurel, Karan KC, Anil Kumar Mandal, Sandeep Lamichhane, Bikram Sob, Raju Rijal and Rajesh Pulami Magar.

The MCC match is expected to warm up the Nepal squad for their two matches against the Netherlands under the ICC World Cricket League Championship, scheduled for August.