Nepal lose to India 2-1 in final of SAFF U-15 Championship

KATHMANDU:  Nepal could not hold on their lead and conceded two defensive lapses goals, in second half as they lost 2-1 to India, in the final of SAFF U-15 Championship played at the ANFA Complex ground, in Satdobata, Lalitpur, on Sunday.

Nepal dominated in the first half and their persistence pressing game paid them dividend as Indian defender hauled down Ranjan Pun inside the area. Striker Brijesh Chaudhary, made no mistake and coolly slotted the ball home to give Nepal a deserved lead in the first half.

India equalised in the 58th minute. Indian striker collected the ball and danced down the left flank, cut inside and dribbled past two defenders and unreleased a thunderbolt that struck underside of the crossbar.

India relentless pressing put the hosts under tremendous pressure and conceded two goals in the second half.

Bikram Pratap Singh scored an sublime goal and gave a deserved lead of 2-1 to his team in the 75th minute. Singh controlled a long ball and nut-mugged two defenders before cooling slotting into the left corner of the post.

Bishal Sunar made some spectacular and decent saves to keep his team alive in the tie. However, Nepali midfielder and strikers failed to create clear cut chances.

India thwarted Nepali moves with ease and shut the shop to hold on the lead to lift the crown, much to the dismay of Nepali supporters.

Nepal pressed forward looking for an equaliser but in vain. Nepal lost its rhythm after conceding equaliser and India grew in confidence and pushed men forward to take lead.

Nepal have failed to defeat India in any age group tournaments.

Earlier, Nepal had lost to India 2-1 in the group state of the Championship. In the semi-finals India had defeated Bhutan 3-0 and Nepal had defeated Bangladesh 4-2.

Best Player: Bikram Pratap Singh team India

Highest Scorer: Mohammad Faizal team Bangladesh (six goals)

Fair play team: Bangladesh

Nepal XI

Bishal Sunar (GK)

Roshan Dong

Deepak Bhandara

Sabjeev Aryal

Randip Paudel

Ashim Gurung

Roshan Rana Maga(C)

Akash Budha Magar

Birjesh Chaudhary

Ranjan Pun

Darshan Gurung